Sign In Forgot Password

Weekend of Celebration 2018

Light, Laughter, and Latkes!


A Message from Wendy Halperin and Elaine Witkoff, Co-chairs of the  2018 Gala Honoring:

Laurie Mendik and David Feuerstein

Jill and Russell Rivera

Janet and Bill Schwartz


The Gala, held on Saturday, December 8th at Rodeph, was a fabulous celebration of our theme, Hanukkah Light Laughter and Latkes!  We transformed the ballroom with colorful table linens, floral centerpieces, silver dreidels and gelt, and cozy neon lighting. It looked so beautiful, and was the perfect setting in which to celebrate our welcoming community.


Guests were greeted by an impressive ice menorah, which kept our flavored vodkas cold. Joe Tieg, our emcee, set the tone for a fun evening with a clever song he wrote to the tune of The Dreidel Song. The Hanukkah candle lighting led by Rabbi Gelber, Cantor Bruce, and our honorees brought light and warmth to the festivities. During the hora, the dance floor was packed with the young and old, twirling to the melodies that connect us to our heritage and to one another.

The Journal went digital this year, and was up on the large screen of the ballroom all night, creating interest and a spectacular backdrop for our program.  As we stated in our Journal article, “The root of the word Chanukah is Chinuch, which means education, and Light is commonly viewed as a metaphor for wisdom.” Accordingly, the three couples that we honored are dedicated to the education of the Habonim community, adults and children alike, and they lend their wise counsel, in addition to their time and financial support, to Habonim.  Thank you Laurie Mendik and David Feuerstein, Jill and Russell Rivera, and Janet and Bill Schwartz!

Our weekend of Light Laughter and Latkes continued  on Sunday afternoon with a live concert featuring Joanie Leeds for our younger set and lots of Hanukkah treats. It was truly a magical weekend, bringing us together to express our gratitude for our esteemed honorees, our dedicated clergy, our cherished traditions, our multi-generational membership,  and the many blessings we share as a sacred kehilla.


We thank our committee members for their dedication and commitment to making sure every detail was given thoughtful consideration:

Mindy Abramson, Stephen Berman, Candice Brown, Renee Edelman, Amy Foster, Norbert Fruehauf, Sheryl Goldstein, Suzi Gordon, Nita Gottesman, Jean Hellering

Check Out This Year's Gala Journal

Photo Galleries:
79th Annual Gala

Photo Booth 

Hanukkah Celebration

Sun, April 2 2023 11 Nisan 5783